NHS-funded eye test

Qualifying criteria for an NHS-funded eye test

UK residents qualify for an NHS-funded eye test if one or more of the following apply:


  • 0 - 15
  • 16, 17 or 18 and in full-time education
  • 60 or over

Medical Condition

  • Registered as partially sighted or blind
  • Diagnosed with diabetes or glaucoma
  • Advised by an ophthalmologist (eye doctor) that you're at risk of glaucoma
  • Aged 40 or over and your mother, father, brother, sister, son or daughter has been diagnosed with glaucoma


  • Receive Income Support (you or your partner)
  • Receive Income-based (not Contribution-based) Jobseeker's Allowance (you or your partner)
  • Receive Income-based Employment (not Contribution-based) and Support Allowance (you or your partner)
  • Receive Pension Credit Guarantee Credit (you or your partner)
  • Entitled to, or named on, a valid NHS tax credit exemption certificate (you or your partner)
  • On a low income and named on a valid HC2 (full help) certificate (you or your partner)


  • Prisoner on leave from prison
  • Eligible for an NHS complex lens voucher

Who doesn't get an NHS optical voucher?

Unfortunately, you are not entitled to an NHS optical voucher if you only receive the following:

  • Recipients of Child Benefit
  • Recipients of Disability Living Allowance
  • Recipients of Incapacity Benefit
  • Recipients of Housing Benefit
  • Recipients of Maternity Benefit
  • Recipients of Contribution-based Jobseeker's Allowance
  • Recipients of Contribution-based Employment and Support Allowance
  • Recipients of Tax Credit without an NHS Tax Credit Exemption Certificate
  • Recipients of Pension Credit Savings Credit on its own